Legend hands out awards at Nelson Cricket Club

editorial image

Nelson Cricket Club held their junior presentation evening last Friday, with club president Michael Bradley presenting the trophies.

A special award was presented to junior co-ordinator Granville Thompson in recognition of his service to the role over the last 10 years. Andy Pettinger will take over the post.

The award winners were - Under 9: Batting - Edward Garner; Bowling - Oliver Dinning; Most Improved Player - Zakaraya Naeem; Clubman Award - Adam Beattie; Player of the Year - Edward Garner.

Under 11: Batting - Kieron Cunningham; Bowling - Miles Pemberton and William Garner; Most Improved Player - Ben Dinning; Clubman Award - Joseph Standley; Player of the Year - Matthew Pettinger.

Under 13: Division One - Batting - Leah Hillman; Bowling - Charlie Smith; Most Improved Player - Spike Dickson; Clubman Award - Harry Schofield; Player of the Year - Sam Johnson.

Under 13: Division Three - Batting - Matthew Pettinger; Bowling - Jamie Randall; Most Improved Player - James Jordan; Clubman Award - Timmy Barnes; Player of the Year - Spencer Phelan.

Under 15: Batting - Harrison Phelan; Bowling - Armaan Moghull; Player of the Year - Moazzam Basat.

Under 17: Batting - Harrison Phelan; Bowling - Harrison Phelan; Player of the Year - Harrison Phelan.

Tonight sees Nelson’s senior presentation night at the club at Seedhill from 7-30 p.m. onwards. The presentations is being incorporated in a curry and quiz night, and all players, officials, members and spectators are welcome to attend.