Lee’s trophy win at Nelson Golf Club

editorial image

LEE Curwen won the Reedyford Memorial Trophy at Nelson Golf Club on Saturday with a stunning score of 69-6-63.

That saw him win by a shot from Andy Howes (76-12-64) who claimed the honours in the 0-12 Division ahead of Jack Spiers (77-12-65) and Andy Graham (75-10-65).

Alex Rickwood (79-14-65) was the pick of the 13-28 Division with Danny Danson (89-23-66) in second place and Graham Pile (82-15-67) third.

Curtis Clarkin carded a one-over-par 71 to claim the gross prize.

Meanwhile, the Nelson team finished third in the East Lancashire Golf Association Scratch Shield at Pleasington.

Accrington had a combined total of 302 to win by two from Clitheroe with the Nelson team of Craig Fort, Nick Uttley, Shaun Field and Martin Spiers one shot further back.

The Nelson Golf Club Ladies’ Open was played last Wednesday on an extremely windy day.

A total of 28 teams of four entered, and the winners were Linda Lee, Y. Yiu, T Chu and O. Owen (86), ahead of S. Roscow, P. Masbiter, R. Rogers and V. Campbell of Morecambe (79) and B. Dixon, J. Topham, F. Sparks and C Walne (79).

Last Thursday, the Team Greensomes was enjoyed by 44 ladies. Lady Captain Margaret Taylor led from the front yet again. Her team of Lynne Grandfield, Pat Greenwood, Anne Green and herself were the first team out, returning an outstanding score of 48 points.

Second were Margaret Riley, Helen Varley, Ada Abbott and Sue Greenwood ran them close with 47, including a four nett two for five points on the 17th! Third were Kirsty O’Connor, Gail Clifford, Marion Wilkinson and Joyce Holgate (44).

On Friday, the Handicap Team played at Lowes Park, and enjoyed an extremely rare 4-3 win.

The team was Lynne Grandfield, Jan Brown, Marion Wilkinson, Frances Sparks, Vena Eastwood, Sandra Eardley and Christine Fletcher.

In the junior section, the Dave Frost Claret was won by Curtis Clarkin in atrocious weather. He carded 72-3-69 to win on the card from Ben Short (72-3-69), with Niall Ormerod (73-3-70) third.

The nine-hole competition was won by George Stanworth (60-20-40) ahead of Frasier Bunting (73-20-53).

The Drakes Cup stableford was won by Declan Buksh (40 points), with Josh Kilbride (36) second and Jakob Gould (35) third.

The nine-hole event was won by Dalton Hutchinson (52-20-32) from Stanworth (58-20-38) and Bunting (62-20-42).

l AT Colne, the concluding round of the Hewitt Bowl was played on Saturday.

Paul Heap (87-20-67) won from Duncan Nixon (82-15-67) and Alan Yates (84-16-68).

The overall winner was Gary Boucher with net totals of 68 and 69 for a 137, winning by one shot from Duncan Nixon, (71+67=138), who beat the first round winner Matthew Birt on virtue of a better second round into third place (67+71=138).

l AT Ghyll on Sunday, the S. Kynaston Memorial Trophy was won by Billy Lee with a great score of net 68.

The Category One winner with a net 73 was David Cockell, the Category Two winner with a net 69 was Jack Farnhill, and the Category Three winner was Paul Barnes with net 75.

The husband and wife team of Kevin and Pat Parrington, will go forward to Pike Hill in August, to represent Ghyll in the Bader Cup Mixed Greensomes, after a winning score of 40 points.

Last Tuesday the ladies’ section played a medal competition in dreadful weather.

Four players completed the 18 holes, while seven others elected to play a nine-hole medal.

Lesley Nash finished first, with a score of 98-12-78.

l LONG time member Neil Earnshaw scored an excellent 43 points to win the Bob Spiers Trophy at Marsden Park on Saturday.

In the 0-11 category Danny Murphy top scored with 39 points, with vice captain Paul Brzozowski second and Mick Spokes third both with 38 points.

Ernie Buksh took the 12-17 category on a card play-off from Gordon Winkup, second and Philip Marlow third, all with 36 points, while Michael Seaward won the 18-28 category with 40 points. Ray Boddy came second and Geoff McLoughlin third both with 36 points.

The Ladies’ May Cup was won by Margaret Frankland with 36 points, beating Jane McGregor (33) and the lady vice captain Wendy Brearley (32).

Aaron Brearley won the Junior May Cup event with 25 points.