Stella triumphs at Captain’s Day

editorial image
Have your say

SOME 62 golfers and eight bridge players enjoyed competing in the dry on Ann Dugdale’s Captain’s Day at Nelson Golf Club.

The main competition was over 27 holes with Stella Newton coming out on top and Jane McGregor finishing second.

Best 18 holes of the 27 was Pauline Burrows while best last nine holes of the 27 Penny Stanworth.

There was also an 18 hole competition which was won by Gillian Blackadder. Runner up was Janet Greewood

Nearest the pin went to Betty Dixon and Sandra Eardley; Bridge, Doreen Hardman and the nine-hole competition, Christine Edwards.

The Howard Rigg Trophy at Nelson went to J Morville (81-17- 64); 0-12 C Broadleday (76-9-67); 13-28 I Farrer (93-28-65). Best Gross: N Uttley 71.

In the juniors, the Brian Clay Bowl was won by Joe Flannagan (76-13-63). Second was Lewis Bancroft (91-26-65) and third was Ben Ross (77-8-69). Best Gross was also taken by Joe Flannagan.

The nine-hole winner was Ethan Myers (57-22-35) with Jacob Thomason (67-23-44) in second and Billy Higginson (67-20-47) in third.

The latest Blackburn League results are; Nelson 2, Rossendale 2; Blackburn 1, Nelson 3; Nelson 1, Darwen 3. On Sunday, Joe Flannagan featured in the junior singles knockout in Rossendale, beating Dominic Grcar by two.

• The Telstar Trophy event was staged on Saturday at Marsden Park.

The tough competition format with both scores to count was won by Ian Mackereth and Mick Hoyle by four shots from Russ Shaun and Charlie Shingadia with Russell Binns and Neil Earnshaw in third place.

The ladies’ competition was won by Michelle Lingard and Wendy Brearley.

Jamie Scott and Thomas Nicholson won the juniors’ competition.

• At Colne Golf Club, the Wilson Hartley Competition was won by Steven Shepherd (80-14-66). Second was Alan Dewhirst (82-16-66) and third was Matthew Birt (77-10-67).

Gross prize went to Paul Boothman.

Colne ladies contested for the prestigous Scratch Trophy. Lady Vice Captain Anne Black’s triumphant score of 83 gave her the title for the first time , five shots ahead of second place Anne Bradbury. Irene Lonsdale continued her excellent form by collecting the best nett of 67.

• The Ghyll July Medal was won by John Cowgill with 38 points. Second with 35 points was David Taylforth and third, also with 35 points, was Martin Robinson.

Junior winner of the Tyrer Tours Trophy played on Saturday was Brandon Cocker with 43 points.

Second was Archie Paxton with 41 points on a card play off from Matthew Dowbiggin, in third.

The Summer Four Ball was won by the in form Brandon Cocker and Ian Graham with 40 points, on a very wet day.

Second with 38 points was Trevor Kegg and Steve Greenwood beating Jonny McGeachie and Keiran Lee on the back six, who also had 38 points.