Council election candidates line-up

Nelson Town Hall.
Nelson Town Hall.

Voters will go to the polls in 16 of Pendle Council’s 20 wards in this year’s elections on Thursday, May 22nd.

When the deadline for would-be candidates closed at 4pm on Thursday, a total of 60 candidates had announced their intention to fight the election.

The Conservatives, currently the largest party on the council, are defending five seats – Barrowford, Boulsworth, Earby, Horsfield and Reedley.

Labour, who are hoping to replace the Tories at the helm, defend six seats – Bradley, Brierfield, Cloverhill, Southfield, Walverden and Whitefield.

The Liberal Democrats are defending seats in Coates, Craven, Vivary Bridge and Waterside.

And Coun. Brian Parker, the sole British National Party councillor, defends his seat in Marsden.

The candidates include six from the UK Independence Party and three from the newly-formed Blue Party, which is contesting all three seats in West Craven.

There are no elections in the four one-member wards – Blacko, Higham and Pendleside, Foulridge and Old Laund Booth.

Four councillors are standing down at the polls – Conservatives Jonathan Eyre (Barrowford), Margaret Foxley (Boulsworth) and Chris Tennant (Earby) and Labour’s Sheena Dunn (Southfield).

A full list of candidates is attached. Councillors defending seats are denoted with an asterisk.

Barrowford: Christopher Jowett (Con.), Mark Porter (Lab.), Gavin Roper (Lib. Dem.), Mick Waddington (UKIP).

Boulsworth: Graham Cannon (UKIP), Sarah Cockburn-Price (Con.), Heather Greaves (Lib. Dem.), Robert Oliver (Lab.).

Bradley: Irfan Ahmed (Lib. Dem), *Mohammed Iqbal (Lab.), Tony Leather (UKIP), Bernard Variyam (Con.).

Brierfield: Mohammed Abdullah (Con.), Nadeem Akbar (Lib. Dem.), *Mohammed Arshad (Lab.).

Cloverhill: Waseem Asghar (Lib. Dem.), Ben Robinson (UKIP). *Kathleen Shore (Lab.), Janice Taylor (Con.).

Coates: Lyle Davy (Con.), *Lindsay Gaskell (Lib. Dem.), Lynn Harrison (Lab.), Kieron Hartley (Blue).

Craven: Dorothy Baxter (UKIP), Natasha Harris (Blue), Denzil Metcalfe (Lab.), Mike Thompson (Con.), *David Whipp (Lib. Dem.).

Earby: David Byrne (Lab.), Mike Goulthorp (Con.), Doris Haigh (Lib. Dem.), James Jackman (Blue).

Horsfield: Malcolm Birks (Lab.), *Neil Butterworth (Con.), James Kerrigan (Lib. Dem.).

Marsden: Neil McGowan (Con.), *Brian Parker (BNP), Christine Stables (UKIP), Yvonne Tennant (Lab.).

Reedley: Kamran Anwar (Lib. Dem.), Jackie Grunsell (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts), Yasser Iqbal (Lab.), *Pauline McCormick (Con.).

Southfield: Mohammed Ammer (Lab.), Saanval Safir (Con.), James Wood (Lib. Dem.).

Vivary Bridge: *David Clegg (Lib. Dem.), John Rowe (BNP), Glenn Stock (Con.), Russell Tennant (Lab.).

Walverden: Asghar Ali (Lib. Dem.), *Julie Henderson (Lab.), Peter Wilson (Con.).

Waterside: David Johns (Lab.), *Dorothy Lord (Lib. Dem.), Jonny Nixon (Con.).

Whitefield: Margaret Beckett (Con.), *Asjad Mahmood (Lab.), Imran Waheed (Lib. Dem)