Lancashire County Council elections: Pendle results in

Ballot box
Ballot box
Share this article

The Conservatives have held on to the Pendle East division in yesterday’s Lancashire County Council elections.

Candidate Paul White polled 1,719 votes to gain a majority of 944 over Labour’s Sheena Dunn. Liberal Democrat James Kerrigan was third with 511 votes and the BNP’s John Rowe had 321.

Former Mayor of Pendle Dorothy Lord has won the Pendle Central division for the Liberal Democrats. She polled 1,055 votes to take the seat for her party from the Conservatives, whose candidate Tommy Cooney (847) was pushed into third place by Labour’s Ian Graham (864).

Brian Parker (BNP) was fourth with 423 votes, with English Democrat candidate Gary Topping tailed off in fifth place with 133 votes.

Labour comfortably held on to Nelson South as Azhar Ali recorded a majority of more than 1,000 over his nearest rival.

Azhar polled 2,087 votes, Neil McGowan (Con) was second with 974 and Asghar Ali (Lib Dem) was third with 701.

Pendle Council’s Labour Group leader Mohammed Iqbal also had a four-figure majority as he defended Brierfield and Nelson North, polling 2,766 votes with Iftikhar Ahmed (Lib Dem) second on 1,206, Tony Beckett (Con.) third on 457 and Independent Derek Mann fourth on 399.

Voters in West Craven returned David Whipp to County Hall after a four-year absence with a majority of 179 over defending Conservative councillor Keith Bailey.

The returning councillor polled 1,574 votes, County Coun. Bailey 1,395, UKIP’s Dorothy Baxter 753 and Labour’s David Johns 519.

Conservative candidate Christian wakeford held Pendle West for his party with 2,013 votes and a majority of 619 votes over Labour’s Mark Porter. Liberal Democrat Brian Newman was third with 810 votes.