MAY ELECTIONS: Who is standing in your ward?

Local Elections
Local Elections
Share this article

Pendle is all set to go to the polls next month with elections to take place in 16 of the borough’s wards.

And on Thursday, May 5th, there will also be elections for the role of Lancashire Police and Crime Commissioner.

This year there will be no councillor elections in the Blacko and Higherford, Foulridge, Higham and Pendleside and Old Laund Booth wards.

But Police and Crime Commissioner elections will take place in all wards across Pendle.

And now residents are being urged to make sure they are entitled to vote.

Gillian Turpin, Pendle Council’s Elections Manager, said: “It’s so important to use your vote.

“Councillors in your ward make decisions on your behalf all the year round on all kinds of issues that affect you.

“Election day is your chance to vote for the person you want to represent you.

“I would urge everyone who has a vote in Pendle to use it.

“Your vote makes a difference.”

Polling stations will be open on May 5th between 7am and 10pm and electors can just turn up to vote without needing to take a voting card with them.

The count of the Borough Council and Police and Crime Commissioner votes will take place on Friday, May 6th.

For more information about voting in Pendle, contact the elections office on 661662 or email

Pendle Council is currently run by a Labour and Lib-Dem coalition.

Between them they have 28 of the 49 seats with the Conservative group having 18, the same as Labour, the BNP one seat and there are also two vacant seats.

Nominations for the seats up for election closed at the end of last week and those standing for election on May 5th are:

Barrowford (Two seats)

Ian Royston Barnett (Green), Sue Nike (Labour), Robert Andrew Oliver (Labour), Ken Turner (Conservative), Mick Waddington (UKIP), Christian Wakeford (Conservative).


Margaret Foxley (Conservative), Heather Greaves (Lib Dem), David John Phillips (Labour).


Mohammad Aslam (Conservative), Mohammad Sakib (Labour), Howard Philip Thomas (Lib Dem).


Naeem Hussain Ashraf (Labour), Keith Wilkinson (Conservative).

Clover Hill

Eileen Ansar (Labour), Janice Taylor (Conservative).


Marjorie Adams (Lib Dem), Harry Purcell (Conservative), Ghulam Abbas Ullah (Labour), Jane Veronica Bailes Wood (Green).

Craven (Two Seats)

Ken Hartley (Lib Dem), Anthony James Lancaster (Lib Dem), Valeria Langtree (Conservative), Richard Michael Oliver (UKIP), Mark Porter (Labour), Jenny Purcell (Conservative).


Rosemary Elizabeth Carroll (Conservative), Ian James Lyons (Lib Dem), Russell Tennant (Labour).


Steve Petty (Conservative), Louise Antoinette Whitehead (Lib Dem), Ann Marie Wrigley (Labour and Co-operative Party).


Tommy Cooney (Conservative), John Barry Richardson (Labour), John Rowe (BNP).


Masawar Raza Arshad (Conservative), Jackie Grunsell (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts), Mohamman Hanif (Labour), Nigel Lofthouse (UKIP), James Wood (Lib Dem).


Saanval Safir (Conservative), Sheila Wicks (Labour and Co-operative Party).

Vivary Bridge

Glennda Louise Clegg (Lib Dem), Nathan Thomas McCollum (Conservative), Ian William Tweedie (Labour).


George Adam (Labour), Abdul Aziz (Conservative).


Ian Graham (Labour), Anthony Robert Greaves (Lib Dem), David Richard John Penney (Green Party Stop Fracking Now), Ash Autcliffe (Conservative).


Nadeem Ahmed (Lib Dem), Adrian Robert Barrett (Labour), Jess McNamara (Conservative).

Four candidates have been nominated for the Police and Crime Commissioner election.

They include former Mayor of Pendle and current Pendle councillor Graham Roach who is the Liberal Democrat candidate. Current PCC Clive Grumshaw is the Labour candidate, James Barker is the UKIP candidate and Andy Pratt will fight on behalf of the Conservative Party.