Pendle Council election: latest results

Share this article

There was no change to the composition of Pendle Council after the borough council elections.

The Liberal Democrats and Conservatives each won one seat and lost one, while Labour held on to all the seats it was defending.

This leaves the Conservatives with 19 councillors, Labour with 18, the Lib Dems with 11 and the BNP one.

Pendle Council leader Joe Cooney has been re-elected to the council. Conservative Coun. Cooney topped the poll in Vivary Bridge ward with 1,093 votes, with the Labour Party’s Russell Tennant coming second with 586 votes and other candidates being Mary Thomas (Lib Dem, 504), John Rowe (BNP, 169) and Leah Jamieson (Green, 154).

Mayor of Pendle Coun. Graham Roach has won his seat in Colne’s Waterside ward in a closely-fought three-way contest, The Liberal Democrat topped thed poll with 689 votes, Labour’s Ian Graham was second with 658 and Ashley Sutcliffe wass third for the Conservatives with 616. Gary Topping (British Democrats) polled 223 votes.

Labour won in Reedley where Robert Allen received 1,711 votes to defeat the Conservative candidate, Tony Cornes, who polled 1,348. Jackie Grunsell (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts) received 99 votes

Labour councilllor David Whalley was re-elected in Southfield, polling 1,249 votes ahead of Conservative Saanvat Safir (830) and James Wood (Lib Dem, 180)

The Conservatives easily held on in Blacko and Higherford, where Noel McEvoy polled 800 votes to defeat Robert Oliver (Labour, 191) and Graham Cannon (UKIP, 163).

Labour won in Brierfield where deputy Mayor Nawaz Ahmed polled 1,604 votes to defeat his Conservative rival Keith Wilkinson (1,082).

Labour also won in Cloverhill, where Wayne Blackburn polled 1,279 votes to fend off the challenge of Janice Taylor (Conservative, 659) and Ben Wilkinson (UKIP, 367).

And Brian Newman retained Old Laund Booth for the Liberal Democrats with 501 votes, ahead of Jill Hartley (Conservative, 467) and Laura Blackburn (Labour, 61).

The results in Barnoldswick’s Craven ward and Colne’s Horsfield ward saw the first changes on Pendle Council with the Liberal Democrats and Conservatives. Lib Dem candidate Richard Milner received 1,233 votes, ahead of defending Conservative councillor Jennifer Purcell (909), Dorothy Baxter (UKIP, 377), Yvonne Tennant and Ian Barnett (Green, 82).

In Horsfield, previously a Lib Dem seat, Conservative Jonathan Nixon won with 871 votes, with Ann Marie Wrigley (Labour, 515), Joanna Roach (Lib Dem, 406), Christine Stables (UKIP, 380) and David Penney (Green, 97) being the other candidates.

In Earby, meanwhile, long-serving Conservative councillor Morris Horsfield was returned to office with 1,691 votes. Hannah Wilkinson (Labour, 772) was second, Edward Johnson (UKIP, 618) and Ian Lyons (Lib Dem, 265).

In Bradley, Labour’s Nadeem Younis had an easy win, polling 1,946 votes to defeat Tony Leather (UKIP, 486) and Bernard Variyam (Conservative, 404).

James Starkie has held Higham and Pendleside for the Conservatives with 885 votes, the only other candidate being Labour’s George Adam (260).

The Conservatives won in Foulridge, where Graham Waugh polled 828 votes to easily defeat Labour’s David Johns (213). And in Coates, Lib Dem Clare Teall topped the poll with 1.170 votes, ahead of Harry Purcell (Conservative, 965), Alan Newbouldx (Labour, 389) and Jane Wood (Green, 193).

The last results to be announced saw the Conservatives win both seats being contested in Barrowford as well as Boulswsorth.

In Barrowford, their candidates, Linda Crossley and Christian Wakeford, polled 1,484 and 1,130 votes respectively to defeat Sue Nike and Mark Porter from Labour (908 and 575) and UKIP’s Mick Waddington (553).

And in Boulsworth, Paul Witws topped the poll with 1,877 votes to beat off David Foat (Labour, 641) and Heather Greaves (Lib Dem, 461)