Photos: Pride of Nelson awards 2014

The annual Pride of Nelson Awards saw outstanding citizens and businesses honoured at the ACE Centre on Saturday.

Dozens of nominations were made from people appreciating what some individuals and businesses do to make Nelson a better place for everyone.

Award winners at the annual Pride of Nelson Awards.

Award winners at the annual Pride of Nelson Awards.

And the final decision on the winners is made by Nelson Town Council members.

The award ceremony was hosted by town clerk Mr Martin Harrison and presentations were made by the councillors. Each winner was announced and presented with the honour by the two town councillors dealing with that category.

The town council also took the opportunity of granting the Freedom of the Town to two more Second World War veterans.

Others had been honoured in June but more have since been established.

The veterans able to receive their awards were Mr Ronald Jackson (92), who served mainly in the Royal Air Force but also, for a shorter time, in the Royal Navy, and Mr Colin Medley (94), a veteran of the Royal Engineers.

The Freedom Scrolls were presented by the town council chairman, Coun. Susan Hunt, assisted by Coun. Mike Landriau, as Coun. Landriau had dealt with all the preparatory work.

Awards were presented to the following:

Adult Volunteer: Jean Atkinson, for contributions to Age UK.

Young volunteer (joint winners): James Borrowdale, a member of a church choir, church council and coffee bar team; and Farman Akram, giving up plenty of spare time to carry out cleaning.

Outstanding Young Person: Aneila Afsar, a 15-year-old who is a good role model for local children and young people.

New start business: Empire Estates, a new Nelson estate agents.

Business commitment to the Community: T. Stansfield, from Ossie’s Bike Shop, for helping charities.

Businessman of the year: Paul Roberts, Cleaver Group Ltd, in business for 45 years.

Businesswoman of the year: Steph Cardwell, Oscars, employing 20 people in two shops.

Small Business of the Year: Clarks’ Ironmongers.

Service with a Smile (14 nominations!): Claire Mullins, Market Street Chippy, “Constantly smiling and cheerful at work”.

Social inclusion award: Andy Riley, working hard to help vulnerable people.

Excellence in Education: Alison Mitchell, Sultan Hayat and Kaneez Chaudhry, Bradley Primary School, providing good leadership and good community schooling.

Helping and caring for others (nine nominations!): Samina Butt, a devoted and dedicated member of the community.

Sporting hero: Atif Mustaq, boxing for more than eight years and, after success last year, becoming a professional.

Arts and Media Award: Liaqat Ali, a “true media model for Pendle”.

Chairman’s Award for Outstanding Achievement: Aneila Afsar.

Large Business of the year: W. H. Oddie Ltd, a Nelson family bakery firm operating since 1905.