Barnoldswick Town unviel three new signings

editorial image

BARNOLDSWICK Town Football Club have unveiled three new signings for the upcoming North West Counties Premier Division campaign.

Colne striker Mark Threlfall has joined Town, having netted 19 league goals last season for the Reds.

The 25-year-old is well known to the Town players and management, who consider the 25-year-old a massive addition to the squad.

Also joining from Colne is central defender and skipper Billy Priestley.

The 23-year-old defender had been under contract for the last two seasons, and at the end of his deal Town swooped to get their man.

Priestley is rated as one of the top defenders in the division, with massive heart, pace to burn and again is familiar with a lot of the Town players.

Last but not least, former Silsden and Thackley winger Andy King has also penned a deal with Town.

The talented playmaker has plenty of experience at this level.

Moving out is striker Paul Fildes.

The 31-year-old frontman was offered a deal on reduced terms, but, having lost out on the role of Padiham manager, has joined Colne as player/coach.

Everybody at Barnoldswick Town would like to put on record their appreciation for his efforts and wish him all the best for the future.

Also leaving is goalkeeper Billy Carrington.

Carrington has been Town’s stopper for the last three seasons, but the development of Marko Marosi has prompted both Carrington and Town’s management to come to this mutual decision.

Carrington is expected to join former club Nelson.

Again Town would like to thank Billy for all his efforts and wish him all the best in his future career.

The following players have signed for Town for the upcoming season, with more talks to follow: Marko Marosi, Liam Blades, Danny Morton, Shaun Clough, Carl Ellerton, Kevin Richardson, Bill Williams, Ben Gorman, Lewis Jordan, Spencer Jordan, Neil Chapman, Ashley Alderson, Liam Britton, Kieran Lee, Stewart Airdrie, Aaron Hollindrake, Liam Garbutt, Mark Threlfall, Thomas Swindells, Ben Harrison, Shaun Airey, Billy Priestley, Russell Clarke, Andrew King, Harry Thompson.