Captain Turner named Nelson player of the season at awards

AWARDS NIGHT: Nelson players at their presentation
AWARDS NIGHT: Nelson players at their presentation

Nelson held their end of season presentation at the ACE Centre on Friday night.

Player of the Year was skipper Chris Turner, while Players’ Player was keeper Ben Woodhead.

Top scorer was Ashley Higgins with 10 goals in all competitions, while Young Player of the Year was Nat Taylor.

The supporters named Tom Anderton their player of the year, and Imy Khan was Reserve Player of the Year.

The Chairman’s Award went to Mark Wilkinson.

Boss Mark Fell has secured the services of seven players for next season already, with Anderton, Joe Wilkinson, Adam Stockdale, Nick Murphy, Woodhead, Jake Lloyd and Taylor committing their futures to the club.

Players have been invited to trials on Tuesday and Thursday, June 11th and 13th.

The club have arranged friendlies against Accrington Stanley on June 6th, Barnoldswick Town on July 17th, both at Victoria Park, and Colne on July 20th, at a venue to be decided.

Colne also held their presentation at the XLCR Stadium, where manager Nigel Coates’ player of the season was 33-goal Jason Hart.

Players’ Player was Ashley Carter, and Supporters’ Player of the Season Chris Thompson.

For the reserves, Players’ Player of the Season was Daz Simpson, and Manager’s Player of the Season Tom McDonough, while the Chairman’s Cup was awarded to manager Coates after 10 years at the helm.