Clarets Trust vote for their player of year

WINNER: Jay Rodriguez was last seasons player of the year
WINNER: Jay Rodriguez was last seasons player of the year
Share this article

ONCE again the end of the season is rapidly approaching, and on April 30th the fans and supporters’ clubs’ Player of the Year awards will be presented.

Last year the Clarets Supporters’ Trust Trophy went to Kieran Trippier.

The year before Jay Rodriguez was the clear winner – but who will it be this year?

Trust Members will all have the chance to vote, and the closing date will be April 18th.

This year there is a shortlist of five players - Lee Grant, Dean Marney, Jason Shackell, Kieran Trippier, Charlie Austin.

Who will be getting your vote?

Austin enjoyed a great run of goals before injury, scored a magnificent goal against Charlton and could be a Burnley record breaker.

Grant was a Brian Laws signing, now well established as Burnley’s numberone, and has made several key saves in a good season for him.

Marney has played a vital role for Burnley in many games – and was a contender for the vote last year as well.

Shackell has been captain in his first season at the Turf. His goal at Ewood is bound to make him the favourite of some fans.

Trippier has enjoyed aother good season as a Burnley player. A key player in defence but also a threat when moving forward.

Some supporters prefer a striker, whilst others go for a defender.

For some, a miracle save or a great goal will swing their vote this way or the other.

What will be the deciding factor for you?

Your vote really does count – so do use it!

Please put the afternoon of June 8th in your diary for the Trust AGM.

More details are to follow, but former Claret Jim Thomson will be a special guest.

• The Burnley Express has launched a FREE football app which is now available to download on iPhone and Android devices.