Awards night for Nelson Golf Club ladies

editorial image
Share this article

NELSON Golf Club’s ladies have held their annual dinner and presentatio.

At the beginning of the proceedings, a special award was handed by Pat Stoney - a past lady captain - to Marion Wilkinson, who has led the handicap team for eight years.

This award was in recognition of the hard work involved and an indication of the depth of respect and affection felt for Marion by all the ladies.

The prize presentation continued with Jane McGregor receiving six trophies in one go - allowing her one speech!

Prizewinners were: Briercliffe Trophy and Club Champion - J. McGregor; Ladies’ Trophy - J. McGregor; Woodward Cup - K. Dennis; Pendle Trophy - J. McGregor; Centenary Trophy - L. Lee; Sportswoman Trophy - J. McGregor; Jubilee Trophy - L. Lee; Cystic Fibrosis Trophy - S. Driver; Cup - J. McGregor; Charity Shield - M.E. Taylor; Joyce Crabtree Trophy - L. Lee; Joan Allen Seniors’ Trophy - J. Payne; Grandmere’s Trophy - M. Wilkinson; Past Captains’ Trophy - A. Kendra; Higher Divisions Trophy - L. Hepworth; Ladies’ Doubles Trophy - E. Dixon and C. Walne; Margaret West Salver - K O’Connor; Alison Short Trophy - J. McGregor; Best Reduction in Handicap - L. Lee.

Pictured are the Lady Captain, Margaret Taylor, with Marion Wilkinson and the other prizewinners (s).