Ben wins annual time trial

Barnoldswick's Anthony Ayrton - Picture submitted by Nicola Ayrton
Barnoldswick's Anthony Ayrton - Picture submitted by Nicola Ayrton
Share this article

LANDSCAPER and plant operator Ben Hemingway won the annual Ilkley Grand National time trial on Saturday from Glusburn builder Nathan Wrigglesworth and Blackley multi winner Andy Cripps.

Seventeen-year-old Sam Yeadon set a scorching pace over the 10-mile all-moorland lap on Middleton Moors.

The average time, calculated on the fastest 10 riders, was a mere 94 seconds longer, such was the pace of the contenders.

The fine dry conditions accounted for the actual times.

Yeadon, from Boston Spa, kept cool and made few mistakes.

Guiseley’s Andrew Carter travelled less than a hundred yards before hitting a ditch with such force that the impact broke his unbreakable handlebars.

He borrowed and fitted new handlebars and resumed to take fourth place overall.

The expert class riders covered total of three laps while the small clubman entry managed two grueling laps.

The major shock though in that class was the winner.

An Army Motor Cycle Association member, in other words, a soldier, whitewashed the local competitors.

All the way from Onich, Invernesshire travelled Vincent Mackintosh to hand out a drubbing to Neil Gaunt and David Lamin.

All three completed the course without time penalties.

Only Menston competitor Sam Cahill and Nelson’s Anthony Farrow failed to complete the course.

Local award winners included Otley’s Joe Bradley who won the novice class and Bingley’s Andy McLoughlin who won the Harold Scott Trophy as the best Inter competitor.

In the main event, over three all moorland laps, Ramsbottom contender Ben Butterworth led the Red Rose riders, taking 10th place ahead of Barnoldswick expert Anthony Ayrton.

Another Barlick rider, Tom Smith, finished last after being delayed by unauthorized course interference. In the two-lap clubman category Clitheroe rider Nick Owen finished a close fourth. Clitheroe competitor Jonathan Baker came home in sixth place, heading Rochdale’s Ian O’Brian, Manchester Peter Gothard. Bury riders Steven Cottrell and Jack Fewings were posted as finishers in 10th and 11th places.