Colne crown prizewinners

editorial image
Share this article

LAST Saturday saw the men’s section at Marsden Park play for the Evening Star Doubles Trophy.

The winners were Adrian and Nathan Lingard with a joint score of 139-8-131, just beating Thomas Sheehan and Andrew Tootle (170-39-131) on a card play-off.

Russell Binns and Neil Earnshaw with 161-26-135 came third.

The ladies’ Doubles medal competition was won by Angela Frankland and Dawn Shaw with 201-49-152.

• LAST Thursday, Nelson ladies played a Waltz - a three-person team Stableford.

First were Yuk Yui, Linda Lee and Pat Greenwood with 66 points, ahead of Helen Varley, Ann Wardley and Vena Eastwood with 65.

Third were Marion Wilkinson, Frances Sparks and Pauline Burrows with 64.

• AT Ghyll on Sunday, the last big competition of the year, the Order of Merit Play-off, was held, with the most consistent players over the season taking part.

Danny Blackmore scored an excellent nett 68 to win the trophy. Second, one shot behind, was Josh Riley, and third was Andrew Harling.

The Ladies’ doubles title went to Anne Maud and Lesley Nash.