Colne golfer Pat has the edge!

editorial image
Share this article

SUMMER conditions produced excellent golf in the Colne Ladies’ first EWGA Medal, with Pat Mcllroy (97-29-68) and Sue Catlow (90-22-68) both recording excellent scores.

However, Pat took first place on a card play-off.

Third place went to Freda Lester with a score of 98-25-73. Best gross went to Beverely Wellock with a 85-11-74, who birdied the second and 18th.

In the Bronze Division fixture, Colne Ladies lost to Harwood 3/2, Freda Lester and Janet Ferguson winning for the home team, with Lady Captain Anne Graham, Vice Stella Kitson and Jennifer Sims narrowly losing.

• ROB Whiteside won the Jack Dugdale Trophy at Nelson Golf Club on Saturday when he returned 79-18-61.

Jeff Bonsall (71-9-62) topped the 0-12 division ahead of Luke Ormerod (70-6-64) and Stuart Flannagan (77-12-65) and Simon Hodgkinson carded a one-under-par 69 to take the gross prize.

Former club captain Ian Ferguson (79-16-63) was the pick of the 13-28 division with Tom Boyd (78-13-65) edging Colin “Monty” Wright (80-15-65) out of second spot after a card play-off.

Nelson ladies’ Handicap Team match at home to Lowes Park resulted in a 5-2 win.

The team was M. Wilkinson, K. Dennis, C. Fletcher, E. Duckworth, F. Sparks, E. Baron and C. Walne

Bronze Team match at home to Wilpshire ended in a draw. The team was lady captain M. Taylor, C. Jeffrey, P. Stanworth, J. Thompson and J. Aikman.

Last Thursday, the Doubles Stableford produced wonderful scores, and a four-way tie between W. Collins and J. Aikman, L Lee and H. Varley, S. Broughton and J. Thompson, and C. Irlam and S. Newton, all with 47 points.

In the junior section, the Ron Loftus Trophy was won by Regan Driver with a 99-35-64, one shot better than Adam Delooze (78-13-65), with Callum Broadleday in third (79-11-68).

The best gross was Ben Short’s 70.

The nine-hole medal went to Louis Bancroft for his 50-18-32, ahead of Carl Kenyon (55-22-33) and new member Jake Chadwick (61-24-37).

Meanwhile, the Lancashire Schools’ competition at Nelson was won by Burnley College A Level student Curtis Clarkin, who has been selected to represent the North West in the North of England Schools Championships in Newcastle later this year.

Extended Diploma in Sports Studies student Ben Short came second.

Combined with the results of the other two Academy players, Extended Diploma in Sports Studies students Niall Ormerod and Scott Byrom, the College also won the overall team award.

The Pendle Junior Summer League started earlier this month at Nelson, with the hosts winning with 203 points from Marsden Park (195), Ghyll (194), Colne (187), Whalley (173) and Burnley (65).

Tyler Baxter of Marsden Park scored an outstanding 56 points.

Still at Nelson, the Peter Halstead Junior Cup was won by Niall Ormerod (69-3-66) on the card from Ben Ross (79-13-66), with Declan Buksh (79-12-67) third.

Curtis Clarkin took the best gross.

The nine-holer was won by Dalton Hutchison (52-24-28) from George Stanworth (57-24-33) and Frasier Bunting (56-22-34).

• MARSDEN Park junior captain Sam Balderstone came out tops in the men’s event to win the WR Stott Trophy with 70-08-62.

Second was Craig Watson (72-09-63), third after cards was Johnathan Duerden (78-15-63), fourth Stuart Birtwistle (81-18-63), fifth Martin Terry (87-24-63) and in sixth place Robert Baxter (78-13-65).

Best gross was Sam Balderstone’s 70, after a card play-off.

The ladies’ TFS Trophy was won by Julie Alderson (92-29-63), ahead of lady captain Angela Frankland (91-22-69) and Carolyn Murphy (101-28-73).

The junior event - Tubbs of Colne - was won by Jamie Scott (92-38-54).