Colne Ladies celebrate another season

editorial image
Share this article

Colne Golf Club’s ladies concluded the season with a presentation dinner.

In her speech, Lady Captain Stella Kitson thanked all the committee and stated that due to the bad summer it had been a difficult year for golf but thanked the ladies for their patience.

This year brought first time names on trophies with Irene Lonsdale winning the Dora Riddiough Trophy, Anne Black’s win in the Scratch, Val Standages won the Charity Shield and Liz Reddy, who after 25 years at the club finally has her name on the boards for winning the Margaret Birtwistle Trophy.

As well as winning the Dora Riddiough, Irene Lonsdale’s season continued to be her best to date by winning the Nett Order of Merit Award, the Former Lady Captains and came in with the best Nett score in the Scratch Competiton.

She finished off the season with close win against Bev Wellock in the Helen Bulcock Singles Knockout!

Anne Bradbury won the Lady Captain’s Prize and was runner-up in the Scratch.

Ingrid Massie was runner-up in the Dora Riddiough and also along with her partner Joan Finley will, for the second year running represent Colne by winning the Daily Mail Foursomes after defeating Liz Gornall and Anne Graham.

Anne also won the Summer Eclectic.

As well as winning her first Board Competition, Anne Black, along with partner Lady Secretary Val Turpin, won the Fourball Betterball Ping, and also won the Order of Merit Gross Prize.

The Clarice Carlisle Trophy which is presented to the lady with the best eight Medal scores was won by Eva Pinder, who also won the September Brooch.

Freda Lester also had a successful season, winning the Millennium Trophy and finishing as runner-up in the Dora Riddiough and also won the Summer Eclectic Gross.

Having won the Silver Medal Award for the second year running, Tina Fishwick will again represent Colne next May at Heaton Moor Golf Club.

Again for the second year running the winner of the President’s Prize went to Cheryl Barnes.

The final award, to Ann Waddington’s surprise was presented with a trophy for the best 35 handicapper.

• AT Nelson, the annual Juniors v Ladies match went the way of the juniors.

The juniors scored 354 points to the ladies’ 218.

The gents’ Philp Ramsbottom Trophy was won by P. Thomason and G. Smith with 47 points from S. and J. Flannagan with 46.

Third with 45 were T. Birtwistle and R. Whiteside.

• IN the final competition of the season at Ghyll Golf Club, only two players shot under par in the Order of Merit play-off.

David Cockell won with 71-4-67 with Tony Hartley one shot away in second place 76-8-68.