Colne Ladies hold presentation evening

editorial image
Share this article

The highlight of Colne Ladies’ first presentation of the season the evening was the award of the first major of the season, the Dora Riddiough Trophy.

Cheryl Barnes won her first competition of the season with an excellent 92-23-69, with Beverley Wellock’s 83-11-72 beating Marie Lonsdale’s 97-25-72 on a card play-off to take second place.

In the men’s section, the JJ Duckworth Trophy was contested on Saturday, and won by President Tony Ingram (79-10-69), on the card from Gareth Asprey (71-2-69).

Phil Vernon was third (92-22-70).

The gross prize went to Andrew Pinder.

Vice Captain John Catlow held his day at Marsden Park. Wesley Kellow’s excellent 82-18-64 took first place, with Brian Lord’s 81-16-65 taking second place.

Third, fourth, fifth and six place were all decided on card play-offs. Michael Holden, Stephen Richardson and Adrian Farnell respectively all had nett scores of 66.

Julie Alderson’s consistent great form continued as she won the ladies’ prize (95-24-71) with Natalie Cinnamond second, one shot behind.

Thomas Nicholson won the junior prize with 83-18-65 and also won nearest the pin in two on the 18th, and nearest the pin on the 11th.

Nearest the pin in two on the 18th as Dave Southern, with John Whalley taking the men’s nearest the pin on the 11th, and Margaret Riley for the ladies. Longest drive for the men was won by Phil Smith, with Dawn Shaw winning the ladies’ prize.

Last Thursday, the ladies of Nelson Golf Club participated for Mr Captain’s Prizes

Division One was won by Janet Smith, Division Two by Jackie Swift, and Division Three by Sheila Birchall.

The nine-hole Competition was won by Anne Green.

Ghyll held their invitation day on Sunday. Winners with 42 points were Steven Greenwood and D. Rodwell, ahead of club president Ivan Rhodes and T. Jefferson with 41, and third, with 40 points after a back three card play-off, were Paul Schofield and P.M. Shearer.

Nelson captain Ian Brennan was a very proud man on Saturday, on his captain’s day.

The four-man team eventwas won by Adam Fothergill, Gary Potter, Chris Brindle, and Gareth Jones with 106 points.