Colne swimmers celebrate yet another successful season

Pendleside Hospice's Brian Hough receives a cheque for �250 from Colne ASC
Pendleside Hospice's Brian Hough receives a cheque for �250 from Colne ASC
Share this article

Colne ASC held their annual presentation evening at Nelson Cricket Club on Saturday.

The first presentation was to Brian Hough, a representative from Pendleside Hospice, who received a cheque for £250, which was raised through a sponsored swim.

The special trophies were presented first, with the Bramhill Memorial Trophy being presented to Jamie Higginbottom, who has shown remarkable improvement going from a small pool to large pool within a year.

The John Dobbin Trophy was presented to Olivia Greenwood, who has shown courage in just being able to make it into the small pool.

The trophies won at the Championship galas were then presented to the winners, with six trophies apiece for Ben Havers-Strong, Daniel Grant and Miranda Bower.

Nicole Baxter won five trophies, as did Jasmin Lahey, with William Havers-Strong winning three.

Abbie Hampshire, Jacob Taylforth and Lewis Eley won two trophies each.

The other trophy winners were Aidan Dibb, Amelia Dugdale, Anna Rogers, Charlotte Holmes, Edgar Zelinskij, George Connolly, Grace Root, Gregan Baker and Hannah McDonagh-Bond.

The winners of the Betty Petty Style competition were James Barker and Molly Rebanks.

The ‘Spot-On’ competition was won by Alex Baker, who got within 0.08 of a second of her submitted time. In second was Joe Pickles, with Daniel Grant in third place.

The Two Alberts Trophy for services to the club was presented to Joan Croxall, who over the years has given a lot to the club, but this year played a pivotal role in the club being re-accredited for Swim21.

Swim21 is the Amateur Swimming Association’s award for clubs who provide a safe environment in which to teach children to swim, making sure that the club is run in an efficient and structured manner.

Colne recently ensured they will remain in the North East Lancs Friendly League Division One, after a swim-off at the Hyndburn Sports Centre in Accrington to determine the promotion and relegation issues.

Colne and Great Harwood from Division One, and Division Two winners Clitheroe and runners-up Pioneer 79 were in action, with Clitheroe finishing as winners on 120 points, with Colne in second place on 110 points.

Pioneer 79 were third with 87 points from Great Harwood, who finished on 80 points, and the result means Clitheroe and Colne will be in Division One next year.