Earby golfers play out tight finish on President’s Day

Andrew Harling with Ghyll President Ivan Rhodes (s).
Andrew Harling with Ghyll President Ivan Rhodes (s).
Share this article

Ghyll members competed for President Ivan Rhodes’s prize on Sunday, with the top three places held by Earby golfers, who all finished on 42 points.

Andrew Harling was the winner on a card play-off, from Andrew Wilkinson and Keith Nash, and other prizewinners were: Front nine Alan Waterworth 24 points, Back nine Ian McGill 22 points, Mid six Ken Inman 15 points, Veterans Jim Warner 36 points, Nearest the pin at the Greenberfield Hole Jack Farnhill 2ft 2ins.

On Saturday Ghyll’s juniors competed for the President’s prize and the winner on 42 points was Jacob Jolly, with brother Ben second on 39.

On Sunday Ghyll held their annual AM-AM event, playing for the Ouzledale Trophy, sponsored by Youngs Beers.

The winning team was Busby Babes of John “Busby” Blackmore, Danny Blackmore, Neil Bowditch and Sean Nutter. Second was FRM – Craig Lemon, Anthony Foulger, Sean Lemon and Stuart Airdrie, and third was S G Carpets – Seahan Grace, Sheon Pickles, Andrew Harling and Pat Conboy.

The Orange ball competition was won by Derick Hartley, Geoff Smith, Sean Hills and Kyle Horn.

On Saturday the Juniors competed for their Ouzledale Trophy , won by Ben Jolly with 83-14-69, from Spencer Datkiewicz 94-22-72.

The ladies at Marsden Park competed for the Cloxton Cup, kindly donated by Mr Captain David Cloxton, with Eva Pinder taking first prize with 34 points, followed by Dawn Shaw. The men’s Carradice Cup wwas won by Robert Baxter’s 76-12-64, with Phillip Marlow second place in the 0-12 category with 80-11-69. Robert Stanton won the 13-18 category with 82-16-66. In the 19-28, Bob Robinson’s 92-24-68 took first place.

Last Thursday, Nelson ladies participated in the Professional Prize, won by Lynn Grandfield with an 84–10-74. The Nine Hole Competition was won by Margaret Taylor.

Irene Lonsdale won the EWGA medal at Colne with an excellent 89-20-69.