Frankland seals Medal Final Victory

editorial image
Share this article

The Men’s Medal Final at Marsden Park was won by Andrew Frankland (76-11-65).

Second was Michael Hoyle (78-12-66) on the card from David Beckett (86-20-66).

The Muppets Cup was won by Robert Baxter (80-13-67) after cards from Thomas Sheehan (88-21-67), with vice captain Paul Brzozowski (73-5-68) third.

The Ladies’ September Pendant was won by lady captain Angela Frankland (91-22-69) ahead of lady vice captain Wendy Brearley (103-31-72) and Julie Alderson (101-26-75.

The Junior September Pendant was won by Tyler Baxter (89-20-69).

• NELSON ladies played in the seventh round of the Daily Mail Foursomes.

Over 3,000 clubs entered this year’s competitio, with the grand finals for the last 16 pairs held at Dalmahoy near Edinbugh.

Pam Pickles and Lynne Grandfield from Nelson fell at the last hurdle.

After wins over Towneley, Clitheroe, Colne, Great Harwood, West Bradford and Lansil, they travelled to Sheffield to play at Lees Hall, but met two ladies at the top of their form.

Last Thursday, the Medal and Joan Allen Trophy was won by Jean Payne (99-30-69), who had her handicap reduced to 27.

Second was Lynne Grandfield(83-8-75) after cards from Frances Sparks (93-18-75).

Josh Kilbride won the Fred Wade Junior Trophy with an 86-21-65 on the card from Matthew Halstead (82-17-65).

Third was Joe Flannagan (87-17-70).

Best gross was junior captain Ben Short’s one-over 71.

The nine-hole medal went to Morgan Myers (54-22-32), ahead of Alex Cook (61-22-39) and Scott Huckin (66-24-42)).

• THE first round of Colne’s 36-hole Foulds Cup competition was won by John Garnett (86-19-67) courtesy of abetter back nine from Gary Boucher (86-19-67), with Danny Lord (80-12-68) third.

• ON Sunday at Ghyll, the Nelson Trophy was won by the in-form John McGeachie with a nett 63.

Division One winner was Liam Bowditch with a nett 66, Division Two winner was Paul Naylor with a nett 69 and Division Three winner was Stefan Irodenko with a nett 70.

This competition and last week’s competition formed the Ghyll Club Championship, where both gross scores count.

The winner was Martin Robinson with 145. Martin also recorded a hole in one on the 10th hole.

Second was Tony Turner with 146 and the best nett score was John McGeachie with 130.