Golf scene in Pendle: round-up

editorial image
Share this article

The concluding round of the 36-hole Harry Preston Trophy was played last Sunday at Colne and proved to be a low-scoring competition.

The winner on the day was golf club stalwart and former Colne cricketer Alan Harker with a score of 81-18-63, which was good enough to win on countback from Eric Dale who had a score of 82-19-63.

In third place was in-form Matthew Birt with a score of 75-10-65.

The overall winner was another one-time Colne cricketer Howard Lonsdale with a two round net score of 136.

In second place was Harker who beat Simon Hughes into third on countback with a score of 137.

The Open Mixed Greensome was won by husband and wife John and Anne Graham with a net 67, ahead of President Alan Lonsdale and his wife Irene’s net 70.2.

Third were Mr and Mrs J. Baxter from Turton Golf Club (net 70.6).

On Saturday, Robert Nesbitt, aged 14, became one of the youngest ever winners of the Club Championship - the Scratch Shield - played over 36 holes.

Robert, who schools at Aireville in Skipton, a member of Skipton and Colne Golf Clubs, shot rounds of gross 75 and 74 for a total of 149 to win by four shots from Guy Bretherton and Matthew Birt.

This victory capped a fine month for Robert who earlier had represented Lancashire schoolboys in their match against Yorkshire schoolboys, where he played and won both his matches.

Guy Bretherton won the first round with a 72, ahead of Nesbitt’s 75 and Ian Robinson’s 77.

In the second round, Nesbitt came out on top with 74, the same score as Matthew Birt, with Russell Iveson third with 78.

That meant Nesbitt was the overall winner with 149, from Bretherton (153) and Birt (153).

AT Nelson, the Captain’s Salver was won by P. Bradbury (74-11-63) from T. Boyd (75-11-64) and C. Waddington (67-3-64.

Best gross was S. Duerden’s 68.

The DT Ingham Trophy saw D. Bradbury emerge as the winner with a 78-15-63.

Second was B. Wrigley (85-19-66) on a card play-off from L. Ogden (86-20-66).

The Nelson Trophy Open 36-hole Singles Medal was won by A. De-Looze (Nelson) with 133, on the card from Marsden Park’s D. Berry, with L. Curwen third, also with 133.

Best 36-hole gross was Niall Ormerod’s 135, best A.M. net was M. Thompson’s 76-11-65, and best P.M. net was P. Murphy of Chevin’s 73-7-66.

Still at Nelson, and last Wednesday saw the Past Captains’ Trophy.

This year’s Lady Captain is invited to join as a matter of courtesy - and she repaid this by recording the leading score!

Pam Pickles scored 100-20-80, with a back six score of 25.3 to win from Pauline Burrows (102-22-80, back six 27.6).

The following day in the Stableford Doubles, Pauline Burrows and Chris Irlam won with 38 points from Lynn Hepworth and Jean Payne (36 points, back nine 18 points) andYuk Yui and Pam Pickles (36 points, back nine 16 points).

In the LLCGA Handicap Team Semi-Final East Division against Turton at Blackburn GC, Nelson won their section to qualify to play Turton - a very strong team with an excellent record in these finals.

No match was allowed to be halved, consequently, two matches had to continue up the 19th, and two matches finished on the 18th.

With only one match left on the course, the team score was tied 3-3.

Fortunately for Nelson the last match went their way.

Now it is on to Heysham for the area final. The team was: Lynne Grandfield, Kate Dennis, Marion Wilkinson, Ann Kendra, Stella Newton, Betty Dixon and Vena Eastwood.

Joe Flannagan won the Nelson Juniors Steele Ford & Newton Shield in consecutive seasons with a round of 77-11-66.

Harry Stanworth was runner-up (93-26-67) while Matthew Halstead finished third (80-12-68). Best gross went to Ben Ross with 74.

Two new junior members impressed in the nine-hole competition as Marley Burn and James Ridehalgh finished first and second respectively.

The former went round in 50-19-31 with Ridehalgh finishing with 51-18-33. The pair, promoted to playing 18-hole competitions as reward, were followed by Daniel Hope with 64-23-41.

In the latest round of the Leader Times Pendle Junior summer league, Nelson GC continued their dominance with victory at Ghyll.