Howard wins Ford Trophy

editorial image
Share this article

The Ford Trophy at Ghyll was won by Howard Thompson with a nett 69.

Category 1 winner was Scott Boardman (71), Category 2 winner was Kieran Lee (70) and Category 3 winner was David Bowker (72).

The April Medal winner was Craig Lemon (36 points), and in the junior competitions, the Fred Sims Trophy went to James Landless, and the Dr G H Cooper Trophy to Archie Paxton.

The Ladies’ Medal was won by Anne Preston (107-33-74).

Nelson Ladies’ Handicap Shield team beat Clitheroe 6-1, adding a 4-1 win against Hillside of Southport, and L. Lee was the winner of the weekly competition.

In the junior section, Jamie O’Connor won the John Lewis Trophy (87-27-60), with the nine-hole event won by Travis Holt (53-19-34).

At Colne, the Spring Medal was won by Andrew Kellet (82-17-65), and the gross prize went to Brian Earnshaw. The Harry Hartley fourball betterball stableford was won by Jeff Ellis and Tom Stephenson.