In-form pair win Scott Leggatt qualifier

editorial image
Share this article

Ladies at Colne competed for the Scott Leggatt with in-form pairing of Anne Black and Beverely Wellock taking first place with a score of 35.

That was two points ahead of Liz Gornall and Tina Fiswick, Freda Lester and Stella Kitson’s score of 32 points took third place.

The winner and runner-up will represent Colne in the 2016 East Lancashire Finals.

Ladies are invited to come and try golf in a friendly atmosphere at Colne. Sessions start on Wednesday and will be held every Wednesday throughout June from 6-8 p.m.

Whatever your age or ability, ladies will be made very welcome at these sessions.

No equipment is needed as this will be provided.

To register either go to the clubs website to download a form, or contact Eva Pinder on 612980 or e-mail

The first 18 holes of the 36 hole Hewitt Bowl competition was contested on Sat urday at Colne.

Leader at the half way stage by four shots is Ken Halstead who scored 82-19-63.

Joint second are Russell Iveson (76-9-67) and Billy Ireland (78-11-67).

The concluding round is due to be played tomorrow.

Better weather conditions at Marsden Park reflected on the results on Saturday.

Janet Kelly wion the ladies May Bank Stableford with 37 points, beating Julie Alderson by five shots.

Nick Alders and Wesley Kellow won the men’s Four Ball Better Ball Stableford with an excellent score of 44 points, with Russell Binns and Wayne Jolly second with 42, one shot ahead of Chris Shepherd and Mark Taylor, who were third on a card play-off from four other teams.

Jake Proctor took the junior prize with a score of 33 points.

Nelson ladies played a Team Greensomes, which was enjoyed by all.

The winning team, Kate Dennis, Sue Worgan, Pam Pickles and Jane Yates, came in with a fabulous score of 46, which was five points ahead of the runners-up.

The Nelson Handicap Shield team beat Wilpshire 6-1 at home, while the Bronze team unfortunately lost to Dunscar away.

On Saturday, Ghyll Juniors competed for the Alan Preston Memorial Trophy. The winner with 39 points was Josh Carlos, ahead of Jonathan Davies with 38, and third on 36 points was Robert Nesbitt.