Jane wins by one hole in Nelson GC Championship Final

Jane McGregor and Sandra Driver at Nelson
Jane McGregor and Sandra Driver at Nelson

The Nelson Golf Club Ladies’ Championship Final between Jane McGregor and Sandra Driver was a hard-fought match that went down to the 18th hole.

Being a scratch competition, Sandra, who plays off 15, had a challenge ahead of her if she were to beat Jane, who plays off a handicap of seven.

The match started with Sandra winning the first hole, but after nine holes she was two down.

Three holes were then halved, and then Jane won the 13th to go three up.

Sandra then mounted her fightback, winning the next three holes to be all square going down the 17th.

This was won by Jane, and the 18th was halved, so Jane won by one hole in a very tight and exciting match to watch.

Jane has also featured in the club’s other two finals, losing the Ladies’ Trophy to Carol Jeffrey on the 17th and winning the Doubles Trophy for the sixth time with her long-standing partner, Lynne Grandfield.

Meanwhile, at Marsden Park on Saturday, the Wilcock Trophy was won by David Southern (77-15-62) by four shots from Stephen Davies (81-15-66), who was runner-up on the card from John Greenwood (88-22-66), third after cards from Wayne Jolly (78-12-66).

In the Founder Members Rosebowl, Julie Alderson (96-26-70) won from Wendy Brearley (102 28 74), and the Dugdale Trophy went to Jake Proctor (83-18-65) after cards from Oliver Scott (96-31-65).

At Ghyll, the Windle Bowl, in very wet and windy conditions, was won by Tony Hartley won with a nett 68.

Division One winner was Bill Aitkin with a nett 70. Division Two winner was Colin Maud with a nett 73 and the Division Three winner was Ken Inman with a nett 72.

At Colne, the fourball betterball stableford comp was contested on Saturday, and the runaway winners were Russell Iveson and Paul Barrett with 46 points. In second placle with 42 points, on a card play-off, were father and son duo Brian and Geoff Hurlstone, from Noel Grinshaw and John Collantine.

On Sunday the final of the club men’s fourball knockout was completed just before the heavens opened. A keenly contested affair was concluded at the 18th hole and winners this year were Jimmy Hartley and Jason Lancaster, ahead of the club president Tony Ingram and John Burgoyne.

The EWGA Medal and September Brooch was won by Tina Fishwick (91-22-69) and reduces her handicap to 21, second place Sandra Harris (99-29-70) again reduces handicap to 28, and third was Anne Bradbury (84-13-71).