Marsden Medal well contested

editorial image
Share this article

AFTER the recent torrential rain it was mostly a sunny day for the 3rd Medal at Marsden Golf Club.

The results were as follows; Men, 0-11 Category, 1st Sean Flanagan 69-6-63; 2nd John Hurst 71-6-65; 3rd Nigel Charlton 75-8-67 CPO. Best Gross Sean Flanagan 69. 12-17 Category, 1st Stuart Mulligan 78-12-66; 2nd Christian Anderson 81-12-69 CPO; 3rd Richard Walton 86-17-69. 18-28 Category, 1st Adrian Farnell 86-20-66; 2nd James Bullcock 88-20-68; 3rd Andrew Tootle 87-18-69.

Ladies, 1st Janet Kelly 89-19-70; 2nd, Eva Pinder 94-20-74 CPO; 3rd Jane McGregor 81-7-74.

Juniors, 1st Jamie Scott 99-29-70; 2nd Jake Proctor 110-36-74.

• AT Colne the ladies’ battle of the giants saw the lowest handicappers competing for all places in the Ladies Medal and Frances Smith Qualifier with Ingrid Massie winning with a score of 87-14-73 one shot ahead of Anne Black whose score of 87-13-14 pipped Beverley Wellock’s Best Gross score of 86-11-75.

Hats off to the Colne Ladies Bronze Team who won their division in the LLGA and will go through to the round robin section of the competition. Bronze Team Captain Marie Lonsdale is delighted with the teams achievement and is looking forward to the final stages to be played in July.

Meanwhile at Colne the Ladies Handicap Team represented by Eva Pinder, Anne Bradbury, Anne Black, Eileen Foulds, Val Turpin and Sue Beerling completed their fixtures on a high by getting revenge from their last encounter with a strong Accrington team beating them 4-3.

• NELSON Golf Club’s ladies were in top form as they contested the Mr Captain’s Prize

The results were; 1st Pat Greenwood 33pts, 18 on the back 9; 2nd Jane Yates 33pts, 16 on the back 9; 3rd, Marion Wilkinson 32pts, 17 on the back 9.

• AT Ghyll Golf Club, the Social Putt was played on Saturday evening, despite the weather.

This is a fun event when players are in pairs , one playing to the green and the other putting.

There is a prize for the player who takes the least number of shots to the green, and this was won by Carl Langhorn with 44.

Another prize for the golfer who has the least number of putts, and this was Maureen Presland with 14 putts

The Slater Centenary Trophy was won by five shots by Howard Thompson with a magnificent net 61.

The Division One winner was John Cowgill with a net 66. The Division 2 winner was Andrew Gibb with a net 66 and the Division 3 winner was Peter Booth with a net 64.