Nelson are beaten by the champions-elect

Clitheroe celebrate a Nelson wicket at Seedhill''''Picture: Keith Driver
Clitheroe celebrate a Nelson wicket at Seedhill''''Picture: Keith Driver
Share this article

Nelson went down to a seven-wicket defeat at home to Foster’s Lancashire League champions-elect Clitheroe in the only Division A game to finish on Sunday.

Clitheroe dismissed Nelson for 144 at Seedhill, and knocked off their rain-reduced target of 80 for the lossd of three wickets in reply.

The Chatburn Road side now need just three points from their final fixture at Burnley a week on Sunday to claim the Lancashire League title at the first time of asking.

Clitheroe won the toss and put Nelson in to bat.

They had an instant breakthrough as Lewis Bradley was trapped by former Nelson man Sam Halstead for a single.

Halstead went on to take 2-34, while Clitheroe professional Fawad Alam claimed 3-40, Marcus Sharp 2-21 and Josh Marquet 1-44.

Nelson skipper Neil Thompson top-scored with 32, while David Crotty added 31 – passing 5,000 Lancashire League runs in the process.

Khurram Nazir chipped in with 25, Michael Bradley 16, Wasim Qureshi 12 and sub professional Brett Pelser 11.

In reply, Clitheroe openers Charlie Dewhurst and Ali Ross put on 37 before Ross was run out for 11.

Three balls later Dewhurst was trapped in front by Nazir for 21.

Alam and Thomas Lord took the score to 72 when Alam was caught at point by Caleb Grant for 13.

Former Nelson all rounder Lord hit 23 all out from 11 balls to see Clitheroe home with Jack Dewhurst (7 not out).

l Colne had made 95-8 when their match against Church at The Horsfield was rained off. Craig Walton (15 not out), Kenton Rhodes (15), skipper Matt Walker (15) and Danny Kegg (14) top-scored.