Phil Vernon is the new Captain of Colne Golf Club

editorial image
Share this article

PHIL Vernon, the Captain of Colne Golf Club for 2011, is pictured as he prepares to drive in his year of Office in front of fellow members and well wishers.

Then followed the annual Captain’s v President’s team match at the club on Saturday.

The President’s team prevailed by one point, 938-937, with the highest scores from (captain’s/presidents) Russell Iveson/Paul Barrett (37 points), Peter Lane/Roger Harris (40 points); Richard Taylor/George Wigham (37 points), Brian Earnshaw/ Chris Heap (37 points); Malcolm Bulloss/Chris Williamson (36 points), Mick Turner/Nick Gornall (37 points).

• GHYLL Golf Club’s new Captain, Steve Mortimer, had a wonderful start to his year of office.

First he had to present a trophy to Jack Cheetham for winning the Junior Winter League.

Jack thanked everyone concerned, especially Bob Presland who helps to run the successful and enthusiastic Juniors.

Mr Captain then had to present the trophy to the winning team of the Club Winter League, which not only included his son, but, himself!

The other two members of the team were Jack Farnhill and Ray Duckworth.

Jack Farnhill thanked everyone for their efforts this season, which had been enjoyed by all.

Runners-up were David Bellwood, Derrick Hartley, Bob Bugler and Clifford Hillary.

Third were John Riley, John Riley Junior, Mark Hargreaves and Seahan Grace.

The wooden spoon this time went to John Parker Junior, Phil Brown, Roy Ford and Eric Hepworth.

Eric told everyone that this was the first time he had won the wooden spoon after playing consecutively for 47 years!

• AT Nelson GC last Thursday, the opening competition of the season was held - the Lady Captain’s v Lady Vice Captain’s nine-hole stableford team competition.

Margaret Taylor led her team to victory, with Anne Dugdale’s team runners-up.

Then on Saturday, the Mail on Sunday team match at Clitheroe ended in a 3.5-1.5 defeat.

The team was L. Grandfield, E. Baron, L. Duckworth, Wilkinson and J. McGregor.