Plenty to celebrate for BAR chairman Brian

editorial image

BAR Committee chairman Brian Swift had plenty to celebrate when he won the Pendle Trophy at Nelson Golf Club on Saturday – among the prizes was a case of beer!

Swift returned 75-14-61 to win by a shot from Tom Boyd (74-12-64), who in turn took the 0-12 division from Peter Bradbury (75-11-74) and Paul Duerden (72-7-65).

Former club captain John Lewis returned 82-18-64 to take the 13-28 division after a card play-off with Dave Clarkin (77-13-64), with Dave Bradbury (80-15-65) in third place.

Man-of-the-moment Nick Uttley beat bar for the fifth successive competition round in returning 69 to win the gross prize.

And Kev Dornan holed a five-iron to record a hole-in-one at the pat-three 11th hole.

Earlier in the week, Steve Emery carded 69-6-63 to win the July Medal.

Division prizes went to Martin Davies (70-5-65), Phil Wright (79-12-67), Vic Grainger (78-13-65) and David Burrows (94-25-69), and Uttley shot a four-under par total of 66 to take the gross prize.

The ladies’ section at Nelson had a quieter week, with all team matches now finished.

However, in the Pendle Trophy, Jane McGregor returned her best gross ever to win tand reduce to her lowest handicap - yet!

Playing ominously well, she shot 74-7-67, and will now play off six.

Lynn Hepworth’s starting handicap was 32 - but all trophies have a handicap limit of 30.

She was delighted to reduce her handicap by three to 29 - her lowest yet, after finishing second with 99-30-69.

Third was Kate Dennis (86-16-70).

The ladies’ scratch club championship quarter- finals are underway.

Lynne Grandfield beat Vena Eastwood, Jane McGregor beat Kate Dennis and Eileen Baron beat Alison Short.

Yuk Yui and Marion Wilkinson are yet to play.

• A great welcome back to Ghyll continued over the weekend, with Tony Turner not only winning the R.C. Bateson Memorial Trophy on Saturday, but the E. Nicholson Memorial Trophy the next day!

On Saturday, playing off two, Tony had a net 67.

Dave Cockell won Division One with a net 68, Bob Bugler won Division Two with a net 71, and Ralph Lowther was the Division Three winner with a net 70.

In the E. Nicholson Memorial Trophy the next day, Turner won with an even better score - a net 65.

Carl Nevison won Division One with a net 66, Tony Harley won Divison Two, also with a net 66, and Lee Drake won Division Three with a net 69.

Ghyll ladies played a medal last Tuesday, and it was won by Eileen Chapple with 96-21-75.

Second was Hilary Hardaker with 99-21-78, and third was Pat Parrington with 104-25-79.

• AT Marsden Park, the men’s competition on Saturday was divided between those over and under 50 years old, with the older generation competing for the Metcalfe Salver and the younger end for the Ramsbottom Putter.

Danny Murphy took the overall prize in the Metcalfe Salver with a very creditable 40 points off his handicap of three.

In second place was Robert Stanton on 37 points, with Graham Hartley just beating Trevor Lingard into third place on a card play-off, both on 36 points.

Sean Flanagan was the winner of the Ramsbottom Putter with 40 points.

Nathan Lingard came second on 37 points from Christian Anderson in third, and Anthony Harwood was fourth, also with 37 points.

The ladies and juniors played a novelty three clubs and a putter competition, with Jane McGregor taking first place in the ladies’ competition on 35 points.

Michelle Lingard came in second with 30 points, and Janet Kelly third on 37 points.

The junior competition was won by Jamie Scott, who scored 29 points.