Scratch team are promoted!

editorial image
Share this article

ON Friday, Ghyll Golf Club’s Scratch Team - President Tom Ashby, captain Steve Mortimer, Martin Robinson (Scratch team captain), Darren Berry, Tony Stocker and David Cockle - clinched promotion to the Second Division of the Bradford and District Union of Golf Clubs.

The team, beat Clayton 6-2 to secure a very popular and proud achievemtn for the club.

The following day, the July Medal was won by Liam Bowditch with 43 points, second Steve Mortimer with 42 points, and third with 41 points was Ralph Lowther.

Then on Sunday, the Summer Four-Ball was played as a Texas Scramble.

It was won Mr Captain and Mr President, who beat Bob Presland and David Hartley on a card playoff. Third were John Cowgill and Matthew Heald.

Lady President Dorothy Tattersall held her annual President’s Day last Tuesday, with a very competitive field.

The first prize was decided by a card play-off, with Anne Maud victorious with 36 points, second was Susan Tattersall also with 36 points and newcomer Desley Mitchell third with 35 points.

Prizes were awarded to seventh place, which were shared by four ladies with 34 points.

Nearest the pin on County Brook was Lesley Nash.