Shorthomers pair claim Doubles Knockout success

Paul Andrews, Mick Devine, Mick Thompson, Andy Jackson (s).
Paul Andrews, Mick Devine, Mick Thompson, Andy Jackson (s).
Share this article

Mick Thompson and Andy Jackson of Shorthomers are this year’s Pendle Pool League Doubles Knockout champions, while Colne Legion captain Nick Peacock has been crowned Individual champion.

In the Doubles Knockout Final, playing at Lamb WMC against the Alexandra duo of Mick Devine and Paul Andrews, Thompson and Jackson dominated the match courtesy of a touch of good fortune in frame one, followed by great tactics and superior potting in frames two and three to run out 3-0 victors.

And in the Individual Knockout Final, Legion skipper Peacock faced a tight encounter against Jackson, who was looking to add to his doubles success.

Peacock secured frame one after a bad miss by his Shorthomers opponent, but Jackson battled back, taking the next two frames as his superior tactics paid dividends.

Frame four saw Jackson once again in the ascendancy, but a careless in off let Peacock in to level the score.

From the break in the final frame, Peacock set about a clearance, only to falter at the final black as he attempted a double into the corner pocket

Jackson came to the table and promptly laid a snooker, but the resourceful Legion man potted the black off two cushions to seal victory and take his first individual title.

The finals follow on from the Pendle Pool League Team Knockout Final, which produced an all-Colne affair, with Legion beating Snooker Club B 4-2 to take the title for the second-successive year.

Individual champion Peacock helped Legion win the Team Knockout, winning the first doubles with Mark Wells, before losing frame five to Derek Hart.

After Peacock and Wells took the first frame, Jonathan Allen and Herbie Hartley levelled for Snooker Club.

Wells put Legion ahead in frame three, and Dean Emmott consolidated made it 3-1.

However, Hart defeated Peacock before Bob Redman warded off a comeback, winning frame six for a deserved 4-2 victory.

And in the Leaver Bros. Memorial Trophy Final, Alexandra Snooker Club A took the honours, beating Barnoldswick Legion 4-2.

Legion won both doubles frames, as Ken Hindsley and Andy Boardman beat Dave Drinkwater and Andy Cairns, then Alastair Turner and Chris Wright saw off Keith Ormerod Jnr and John Lanceley.

But Lanceley and Paul Andrews pulled the sides level as they won the singles against Neil Bamber and Turner.

Andy Cairns put Alex ahead by beating Chris Wright, and Ormerod Jnr. forced a decisive error from Pete Booth to complete victory.