Sophie’s hole in one is in vain!

editorial image
Share this article

NELSON’S Sophie Potter scored a hole in one on the second hole in her doubles knockout match, although she went on to lose on the 18th.

Last Thursday saw the Charity Shield, won by Cath Walne (85-14-71) from Carol Jeffrey (98-26-72) and Janet Thompson (103-28-75).

The John Lewis Trophy was won by James Wright’s 88-22-66, and Ben Ross’s 77 was the best gross.

The nine-hole medal went to Jacob Thomason (61-20-47).

• CRAIG Lemon and Jack Farnhill won the Peter Graham Memorial Trophy last Sunday at Ghyll with an excellent 46 points.

Second on a card play off was Carl Nevison and Dave Walling from Tony Hartley and Harry Thompson with 42 points.

The Ghyll ladies played their first trophy match last Tuesday in very strong winds, and difficult conditions.

The winner of the Westons Trophy was junior Emma Blades with 39 points, and she dropped two shots to handicap.

In second place was Desley Mitchell with 34 points. and third was Susan Tattersall with 30 points.

• COLNE Ladies played for qualification in the East Lancashire Ladies’ Handicap Shield and a Medal Competition. Tina Fishwick’s form continued from last season by winning the medal and reducing her handicap by one shot with a score of 98-25-73, with Ann Waddington in second place with 111-36-75, and 2011 Merit Winner Val Turpin (100-23-77) third.

Qualifiers for The Handicap Shield to be played at Dunscar in June were Val Turpin, Eva Pinder and Sue Catlow.

The Spring Medal at Colne was won by Chris Heap (90-20-70) ahead of Jason Lancaster (83-13-70) and George Wigham (96-24-72).

The gross prize went to Brian Earnshaw.

Saturday’s May Medal was won by Phil Halstead (99-23-66), from Stuart Boothman (83-17-66) and Derek Harker (90-21-69). The gross prize was won by John Collantine.

• AT Marsden Park, the men’s competition for the W R Stott Trophy saw some excellent scores, with David Perks winning with 76-9-67 closely followed by Adrian Lingard (73-5-68 CPO) and Peter Edwards (80-12-68).

Best gross was Nathan Lingard’s 71.

The ladies competed for the TFS Trophy, won by Janet Kelly (94-19-75) from Lady Captain Wendy Brearley (107-31-76) and Michelle Lingard (103-25-78).

The juniors competed for the Tubbs of Colne Trophy, Ryan McGinty taking first place with 92-33-59, followed by Tyler Baxter (88-18-70).