Texas Scramble boost for Ghyll Golf Club juniors

editorial image
Share this article

Trevor Towers, Leslie Nash and Ben Hannan won the 11-hole scramble at Ghyll on Saturday.

This popular competition has one man, one lady and one junior in each team and is a Texas Scramble.

It is proving to be a very good way of encouraging the club’s growing number of junior members to play with others.

Also on the winners’ rostrum were second-place Derek Hartley, Jean Mayor and Henry Falshaw, with John Dawson, Susan Tattersall and Abbey Francis third.

All the winners with the captain Stephen Mortimer and lady captain Sue Taylforth (s).

On Sunday, carrying on a very memorable, enjoyable and successful year, the Bateson Memorial Trophy was won by captain Mortimer with a nett 65.

Martin Robinson won Division One, David Taylforth won Division Two and Derek Hartley won Division Three.

The Ladies’ Open at Ghyll was a four-player team with two scores to count.

It was won convincingly by a team from Accrington consisting of Lil Dykes, Marie Jarrett, Val Robinson and June Clucas with 83 points.

Second were the ladies from Gyhll, Rossendale and Accrington - Stephanie Robinson, Pat Parrington, Margaret Ormerod and Carol Simpson with 73 points.

In third place were a team from Marsden Park made up of Janet Kelly, Julie Alderson, Wendy Brearley and Carol Robinson with 69 points.